Books




Face of Winifred May Davies
Latest topics
» Why Jesus Is Not God
Mon 17 Apr 2017 - 0:09 by Karen

» The Fourth Reich
Fri 14 Apr 2017 - 14:14 by Karen

» Allah, The Real Serpent of the Garden
Tue 7 Mar 2017 - 11:45 by Karen

» THE INNOCENCE OF JEWS
Sat 4 Mar 2017 - 12:06 by Karen

» Hillary Clinton (Hillroy Was Here)
Fri 28 Oct 2016 - 17:38 by Karen

» Alien on the Moon
Thu 20 Oct 2016 - 21:57 by Karen

» Martian Nonsense Repeats Itself
Thu 20 Oct 2016 - 18:43 by Karen

» Enlil and Enki
Fri 7 Oct 2016 - 17:11 by Karen

» Israel Shoots Down Drone - Peter Kucznir's Threat
Wed 24 Aug 2016 - 22:55 by Karen

» Rome is Babylon
Sun 24 Jul 2016 - 21:27 by Karen

Links












Gallery



The Sign of the Big Cigar

Go down

The Sign of the Big Cigar

Post by Karen on Thu 14 Mar 2013 - 9:47

THE SIGN OF THE BIG CIGAR.

At Brompton County-court Mr. Charles Grandy was summoned for non-payment of 2 pounds 7s. 7d.
The Judge: Can you prove the defendant's means?
Plaintiff's representative: Prove his means? Why he walks about that parish with an air as though the world is treating him well. He smokes big cigars and looks quite happy.
The Defendant: The cigars are samples. I'm an agent.
Plaintiff: He's just become a member of the Fulham Philanthropic Society, and paid a subscription.
The Judge: What was the amount of your subscription?
Defendant: 4s. 6d. for the year. I only joined it to oblige a friend.
The Judge: 10s. a month.

Source: Evening Express, 29 June 1898, Page 3

***************************************
Karen Trenouth
Author of: "Epiphany of the Whitechapel Murders"
Author of: "Jack the Ripper: The Satanic Team"
avatar
Karen
Admin

Posts : 4907

View user profile http://victorianripper.niceboard.org

Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum